Revision to the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions


On the 14th February 2023, the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes has been revised to include four new jurisdictions - the British Virgin Islands, Russia, Costa Rica and the Marshall Islands. This list is part of the EU's work to fight tax evasion and avoidance and aims to create a stronger deterrent for countries that consistently refuse to play fair on tax matters.

The countries in the list below are those that refused to engage with the EU or to address tax good governance shortcomings American Samoa

  • Anguilla
  • Bahamas
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Fiji
  • Guam
  • Marshall Islands
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Vanuatu

The criteria against which the jurisdictions are assessed relate to tax transparency, fair taxation and implementation of international standards designed to prevent tax base erosion and profit shifting.

The next revision of the list is scheduled for October 2023.

The content of this article is valid as at the date of its first publication. It is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter and does not constitute legal advice. We recommend that you seek professional advice on your specific matter before acting on any information provided. For further information or advice, please contact Christina Tifa at +357 25 363685 or via email at christina.tifa@kyprianou.com.